Current listening: Bella Hardy

Hurrah Hurrah Hurrah. Bella Hardy has been nominated for two awards in next years BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards. I have not yet heard the whole of her album “Night Visiting” as I have it on good authority that it will be in my Christmas stocking this year (regular comments since September from a particular sibling along the lines of “Don’t buy it” seem to be a fairly clear indication) but she has received plenty of airplay from the usual folk friendly radio shows and the songs which I have heard sound wonderful. Plenty of traditional tunes and some of her own as well and fiddle playing and singing at the same time. I first heard her on a cd by The Pack received from the aforementioned sibling with (I think) about 10 other talented young folkies, including  all of 422 (another band well worth seeing live if you get the chance. they are fantastic). Like 422 and the likes of Jim Causley, I think she has a very bright future ahead of her. You can hear some of her music including her award nominated own composition “Three Black Feathers” at her my space page. It’s lovely. Needless to say I am looking forward to the 25th December.

Leave a Reply

