Shuffleathon 2007. Part 4

Alemayehu Eshete – Eskegizew Bertchi

Mentioned in my Earworms of the week here  (Entry for Friday October 19). This what I said:

“Alemayehu Eshete is an Ethiopian singer who sings in Amharic and has been going since the 1960s. This is a really funky track which I think dates from the 1970s and has an insistent nagging beat. I also love this because it sounds like he is singing the whole thing backwards.”

I am not sure that I can expand on that. It is utterly beguiling and utterly bonkers at the same time.  And you can dance to it. What more could anyone want ?

Leave a Reply

